THE WATLINGTON BREWERY

Scope and Content

Of all the breweries acquired by Halls, the Watlington Brewery has the longest history. The first known brewery there was run by John and William Hayward at least by 1813 (see 7D/28-32 below). By 1843, it was run by the Yate and Peel families, being run by John Westcar Peel from 1871. After his death, the brewery had become known as the Watlington Brewery Co. by 1893.

By about 1910, the Brewery may have been in liquidation, and one of its pubs, the Cider House at Haddenham, was sold to Halls Oxford Brewery in that year. It was not, however, until 1914, that the other properties were all sold to Halls.