This brewery began in the 1870s, as a partnership between Amariah Fairthorne and Richard Phillips, based at Faringdon (then in Berkshire). In 1883, Phillips sold his half of the business to Fairthorne, who remained in charge until in 1899 he was bought up by W.G. Phillips & Co. of 20 Cornmarket St., Oxford. According to "Allied Breweries - A Long Life", this brewery was eventually taken over by Halls Oxford Brewery in 1910, but there are no documents in B15 concerning it.
THE EAGLE BREWERY, FARINGDON
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 160 B15/7
- Dates of Creation1731-1938