The earliest records on this brewery link it with one John Parker in the 1830s. Unfortunately, Parker went bankrupt in 1848, and his properties were sold off. Most of them went to Richard Wootten and William Cole, and are grouped together here in B15/3. A few were sold off separately, such as the Peacock Inn in Oxford St. Thomas (see B15/2/24D), or the Star and Garter in Oxford St. Michael (see B15/5/9D).
After Wootten and Cole's deaths, the business passed to William Wootten Wootten of Headington, and then to his Sarah. In 1891, Sarah Wootten Wootten sold the brewery to Mary Weaving, of the Eagle Steam Brewery in Park End Street, Oxford (see B15/4 below). Weaving's firm was eventually taken over by Halls Brewery, with all of the former Wootten & Cole properties, in 1897.