Records of Charing Cross Hospital, 1818-1976, comprising Dr Golding's minute book, 1818-1821; minutes of the Hospital Management Committee, 1821-1976 (formerly the Committee of Management and Board of Governors); Weekly Board Minutes, 1836-1911; minutes of the Finance Committee, 1865-1919, 1932-1971; Medical Committee, 1863-1968; Medical Advisory Committee, 1966-1976; Group Medical Committee, 1958-1966; Executive Committee, 1967-1974; House Committee, 1948-1972; General Purposes and Finance Committee, 1913-1917, 1948-1967; Establishment Committee, 1948-1953, 1964-1965; Medical and Dental Staffing Committee, 1948-1949; Special Appeal Committees, 1896-1911, 1926-1928; Survey Sub-Committee, 1949; Building Committee, 1828-1833, 1885-1905; Convalescent Home Committee, 1890-1915; Subcommittees' minutes, 1884-1914; Ladies Guild, 1904-1933; Planning committee of new medical school, 1959-1963; Pathological Services Committee, 1963-1966; annual reports, 1868-1974; Chairman's Reports, 1931-1937; charters, rules and bylaws, 1883-, notably Charters of Incorporation, 1883, 1887, 1948, bylaws, 1947, standing orders [1950-1957]; audited accounts, 1953-1964; administrative records, notably hospital visitors' book, 1870-1917; list of pharmacists, 1868-1878; plans of the hospital; insurance and legal papers; plans and charts; photographs; hospital diet, 1828; legacy book, 1835-1894; souvenir programmes, [1899-1901]; operating theatre lists, 1892-1900; case books of John Howship, [1817-1831]; prescription book of the hospital dispensary, 1930s.
Charing Cross Hospital
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 98 Charing Cross Hospital
- Dates of Creation1821-1976
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Descriptionapproximately 5 linear metres
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Charing Cross Hospital was established in 1823 in Villiers Street, London, as a charitable institution known as the West London Infirmary. The institution had its origins in a meeting initiated by Dr Benjamin Golding in 1818. The infirmary provided accommodation for twelve beds, and became known as Charing Cross Hospital in 1827. A new building was opened in Agar Street in 1834 with accommodation for twenty-two students, and was extended several times. After the second world war it was decided that the hospital should move out of central London, and in 1957 a link was proposed with Fulham and West London Hospitals. The new Charing Cross Hospital was opened in 1973 on Fulham Palace Road, on the site of the old Fulham Hospital. John Howship (1781-1841) was assistant surgeon, 1834-1836, and then surgeon, 1836-1841, to Charing Cross Hospital. His casebooks contain notes and letters concerning patient cases, and some illustrations.
Conditions Governing Access
Researchers wishing to consult the Archives should first contact the College Archivist, Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine, Exhibition Road, London SW7 2AZ, for an appointment.
The records were transferred to the College Archives from the Charing Cross Campus Library in July 2000.
Other Finding Aids
A preliminary list is available at the College Archives.
Charing Cross Hospital holds records, 1818-1979; London Metropolitan Archives holds records, 1897-1947; Charing Cross Hospital League of Nurses holds some nursing records; Hammersmith and Fulham Borough Archives Service holds surviving records of the Fulham Hospital, the Western Hospital and the West London Hospital.
Conditions Governing Use
A photocopying service is available at the discretion of the Archivist. Photocopies are supplied for research use only. Requests to publish original material should be submitted to the Archivist.