Gimson worked in the family engineering firm, Gimson and Co. He was elected to the Town Council in 1910 and served as a member of the Municipal Technical and Art Schools Committee and the Colleges of Art and Technology Committee until his death. Gimson notably served as Chair of the Museum and Art Gallery Committee, which acquired the buildings that are now Newarke Houses Museum under his leadership. Gimson's brother Ernest was a well-known architect and designer who created Stoneywell Cottage for his brother.
This plaque was made in 1927 by F E C Gardner, teacher of Modelling and Carving at the College of Arts and Crafts.