Minute books 1910-1951; Financial records 1898-1958; Correspondence and related papers 1922-1952; Lewis Merthyr Collieries Joint Committee Records 1909-1926
Lewis Merthyr Lodge
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 217 SWCC : MNA/NUM/L/48
- Dates of Creation1898-1958
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description3 boxes, 39 volumes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Lewis Merthyr Lodge was a branch of the South Wales Miners' Federation. It represented workers from each of the pits worked by Lewis Merthyr Consolidated Collieries Ltd. These were the Coed Cae (closed 1929), Hafod (closed 1930 and 1933), Lady Margaret, Bertie and Trefor pits which together made up Lewis Merthyr Colliery.
Lewis Merthyr Lodge became a branch of the National Union of Mineworkers (South Wales Area) in 1945.
The collection includes minutes for the Joint Committee Meetings held between the Lewis Merthyr Lodge and the representative 'lodge' of each pit worked by Lewis Merthyr Collieries. These represented Coed Cae, Hafod, Lady Lewis, Bertie and Trefor pits. Rhondda Main (Ogmore) Lodge and Senghenydd Lodges were also included from 1 Mar 1919. The exact relationship between these 'pit' Lodges and Lewis Merthyr Lodge is unclear.
Conditions Governing Access
Access unrestricted unless stated otherwise.
Other Finding Aids
A hardcopy list is available in the searchroom.
Conditions Governing Use
A photocopying service is available. Contact repository for details.
No publication without written permission from the Archivist.