Library records 1942 and undated (c1942-1943).
Seven Sisters Welfare Hall
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 217 SWCC : MNA/I/36
- Dates of Creation1940 - c1945
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1 volume and 1 envelope
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Seven Sisters Welfare Association had its origins in the establishment of a Reading Room in the settlement at some point in the 19th or early 20th century. The Reading Room was located at the end of the Brick Row houses. The accomodation consisted of one large room with a sliding partition screen and shelves of books lined the sides. Newspapers and magazines were also provided.
In 1912 Mr Evan Evans Bevan and a few other local men came together in order to build a village hall. It was completed in 1914 and known as the 'Palace'. The hall was used for the performance of dramatic productions and variety shows and in 1916 moving pictures were first shown there. In 1925 the Reading Room Committee came to the conclusion that there was a need for a bigger hall in the village for welfare, education and social purposes. A meeting was held with the local coal miners in order to discuss the proposal and it was agreed to purchase the 'Palace' for the purpose with the miners' support. The 'Palace' became the miners' property in 1926. This was the start of the Seven Sisters' Miners' Welfare Society which was maintained by regular weekly contributions by members out of their pay packets. The Society prospered and in 1928 it was announced that the debts owing to Mr Evan Evans Bevan for the purchase of the 'Palace' had been cleared.
Over the following years the society undertook many different projects including the establishment of a children's playing field, a football field and the construction of an outdoor swimming pool, completed in 1935. In 1926 Mr Evan Evans Bevan had also built an institute and bowling green for the use of his colliery officials. The bowling green was purchased by the Welfare Society in 1941. In 1947 the Institute was taken over by the Natonal Coal Board and by 1957 it too had been purchased by the Welfare Soceity. Due to changing tastes in entertainment and the advent of television the Welfare Society has had to adapt to changing times and a bar was later installed at the institute.
Conditions Governing Access
Access unrestricted unless stated otherwise.
Other Finding Aids
A hardcopy list is available in the searchroom.
Conditions Governing Use
A photocopying service is available. Contact repository for details.
No publication without written permission from the Archivist.