St Asaph (Denbigh) Rural District Council, records of

Scope and Content

St Asaph (Denbigh) Rural District Council, Denbighshire, was created under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1894. The rural district included the parishes of Abergele, Abergele Rural, Bettws Abergele, Bylchau, Cefn, Llanefydd, Llanfair Talhaearn, Llansannan, and Trefnant in Denbighshire. The council comprised councillors and a chairman, elected for three years. They originally took over responsibility for local sanitation from the local sanitary authorities and their responsibilities included sanitary services, sewerage, refuse collection, maintaining local roads, cemeteries, parks, and licensing of public entertainments, water supply and later housing. Rural District Councils were administered by a number of committees and by appointed officers including a Clerk, Treasurer, Public Health Inspector, Housing Officer, Surveyor and Rating Officer. In 1935, most of the district became the nucleus of the new Aled rural district, with the remainder being added to Abergele urban district. St Asaph (Flint) Rural District Council was in existence from 1894 to 1974.

Records of St Asaph (Denbigh) RDC including council minutes, 1895-1935; committee minutes, 1929-1932; Rating Authority minutes, 1927-1932; Treasurer's department records including general ledgers, 1876-1927; Surveyor's report book, 1926-1929; Medical Officer of Health's annual reports, 1928, 1933; agreements relating to loan repayments, 1897; and minutes of St Asaph (Flintshire) RDC, 1940-1970.


Arranged bty deposit into the following: Clerk; and Treasurer; Rating Officer; Surveyor; and Medical Officer of Health.

Access Information

This collection is open for research. It is advisable to book in advance, for details and opening hours see Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Denbighshire Archive Service will advise where this is the case.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply