Maps and plans relating to Merionethshire, 1817-1973, including bridges, 1834-1853; electricity supplies, 1898-1954; embankments, 1861-1862; enclosures, 1891; gas works, 1877-1911; harbours and piers, 1876-1914; railways, 1824-1959; roads, 1817-1864; water works, 1870-1956; Welsh Church Commissioners tithe rent books, 1926-1937; Merioneth County Council maps and plans, [c.1866]-1973, including county maps, 1934-1973; and miscellaneous maps, [c.1866]-[c.1969].
Merionethshire Maps and Plans
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 220 Z/CD
- Dates of Creation1817-1973
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical DescriptionInformation to be supplied
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
From 1889, Merioneth (or Merionethshire) County Council created and used maps and plans for council offices, schools, hospitals, police stations and other buildings in the county. Earlier plans of railways, roads, harbours and bridges, deposited with the Clerk of the Peace, were also transferred to the County Council when it took over the administrative functions of the Court of Quarter Sessions. The Welsh Church Commission was set up in 1920 to take over the management of Church property and distribution of revenue. The Commission's duties included the collection of tithes; this involved liaison with the County Council as a rating authority.
Arranged into the following: Bridges; Electricity; Embankments; Enclosures; Fisheries; Gas works; Harbours and piers; Railways; Roads; Water works; Welsh Church Commissioners; Miscellaneous; and Merioneth County Council.
Conditions Governing Access
Source not recorded
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Archifdy Meirionnydd Archives, Mapiau a Chynlluniau/ Maps and Plans, catalogue; Caernarfon Record Office, Cynlluniau Pensaer Y Sir/ County Architects' Plans, catalogue; Hey, David, Oxford Dictionary of Local and Family History, (Oxford University Press, Oxford, 1997).
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available in Meirionnydd Archives and the National Library of Wales.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at Meirionnydd Archives have been retained.
Records deposited with the Clerk of the Peace, Merioneth Court of Quarter Sessions before 1889.
Accruals are not expected