• This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 197 SR132
  • Dates of Creation
  • Physical Description
      1 box 0.016 cubic metres

Scope and Content

Comprising: log books 1937-1958; admission registers 1929-1970; punishment book 1914-1972; managers' and visitors' book 1915-1953; stock and stores book 1930-1936

Administrative / Biographical History

A note at the front of the first surviving log book for the Junior Mixed Department (SR132/1/1) records that the school was opened on 30 September 1914. The first entry of the surviving Infants Department log book (SR132/1/2) notes that the first log book probably dating from 1914 was destroyed in the floods of 1947 in Bentley. Between 1944 and 1950, the school became Bentley Toll Bar County Primary School with infant and junior departments. The two departments merged in January 1959 to become Bentley Toll Bar Junior Mixed and Infants (JMI) School. In 1974, as a result of local government reforms, the school came under the control of Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council and shortly after this became a first and middle school providing education for children aged between four and twelve years. The current name of the school is Toll Bar Primary School.


The collection consists of five series as follows:

SR132/1: Log Books

SR132/2: Admission Registers

SR132/3: Punishment Book

SR132/4: Managers' and Visitors' Book

SR132/5: Stock and Stores Book

Access Information


Access will be granted to any member of Doncaster Libraries