Parish records of York, St Wilfrid

Scope and Content

Includes overseers’ records, including orders and circulars of the Poor Law Commissioners, 1834, 1850-1868, notices of meetings to elect overseers and appointments, 1852-1869, notices concerning poor rates, 1855-1870, rate books, 1863-1868, receipt and payment book, 1848-1867, receipts and vouchers, 1830-1869, removal orders and settlement certificates, 1847-1849, lists of paupers, 1833-1872, audit papers, 1848, 1854, 1859, 1868-1869; electoral lists and papers, 1840-1866; lists of citizens in the parish and lists of occupiers, 1865, 1866, n.d.; papers concerning the dispute between St Wilfrid and All Saints North Street over the rating of Lendal Bridge, 1864-1866

Administrative / Biographical History

The church of St Wilfrid, Blake Street, was first mentioned in a charter dated between 1145 and 1148. In a grant dated between 1155 and 1165 the patronage of the church was given to St Mary’s Abbey, York, who held it until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century.

In 1548 a proposal was made to unite the parish with that St Michael le Belfrey and the churchyard, possibly along with the church grounds, were granted to a York citizen the following year. The two parishes were united c.1586 and came under the pecular jurisdiction of the Dean and Chapter of York. The church itself was likely demolished in the 16th century but the parish survived for secular purposes until 1900.

Since 1864 a Catholic Church dedicated to St Wilfrid has occupied a nearby site in Little Blake Street.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute between 1973 and 1982 with the records of York, St Michael le Belfrey.

Note

The church of St Wilfrid, Blake Street, was first mentioned in a charter dated between 1145 and 1148. In a grant dated between 1155 and 1165 the patronage of the church was given to St Mary’s Abbey, York, who held it until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century.

In 1548 a proposal was made to unite the parish with that St Michael le Belfrey and the churchyard, possibly along with the church grounds, were granted to a York citizen the following year. The two parishes were united c.1586 and came under the pecular jurisdiction of the Dean and Chapter of York. The church itself was likely demolished in the 16th century but the parish survived for secular purposes until 1900.

Since 1864 a Catholic Church dedicated to St Wilfrid has occupied a nearby site in Little Blake Street.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1982.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 26.11.15

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Related Material

For related material held by the Borthwick Institute, see the parish records of York, St Michael le Belfrey which include St Wilfrid's Ecclesiastical Charity account books, 1907-1931, and related correspondence, 1926-1933. From 1586 the parish registers of St Michael le Belfrey also covered the parish of St Wilfrid.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193