Deeds relating to Welsh Whiskey Distillery Co. Ltd's lands at Frongoch, Llanfor, Merionethshire, 1889-1900.
Deeds relating to Frongoch Whiskey Distillery, Llanfor
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 220 Z/M/570
- Dates of Creation1889-1900
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical DescriptionNot provided
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In 1889, Edward Charles Nicholls, Esq., of London, purchased land at Frongoch, Llanfor, Merionethshire, from Richard John Lloyd Price of Rhiwlas, with the aim of establishing a distillery called the 'Welsh Whiskey Distillery Co. Ltd' Stone was quarried from the Villtercerig Quarry, Llanycil and sand was raised from the River Tryweryn. In 1900, the distillery was sold to William Owen, of White Lion Hotel, Bala, for £5,000. The distillery produced the brand "Royal Welsh Whisky". The firm was inconsistent in usage of 'Whisky' and 'Whiskey' in its records.
Arranged by date.
Conditions Governing Access
Compiled by Seri Crawley for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Meirionnydd Archives, Miscellaneous Collection (Dolgellau), Deeds relating to Frongoch Whiskey Distillery, pa. Llanfor
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Meirionnydd Archives, the National Register of Archives and the National Library of Wales. The catalogue is available online. A detailed calendar is available in the Journal of the Merioneth Historical Society, 5.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright laws apply.
All records deposited at Meirionnydd Archives have been retained
Accruals are not expected.