Financial records, 1855-1873; correspondence, 1858-1874; deeds and leases, 1823-1870; auction posters, 1852
Records of the Neath Abbey Coal Company
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
This concern was set up by the proprietors of the Neath Abbey Iron Works, initially to supply the works with coal, and later developing into a fully-fledged business. The first contract to dig coal under the Dyffryn estate was made in 1806 by the Fox family, and in 1819 a Company was formed specifically to operate coal mines. The Company eventually closed down in 1873 and was first sold to Bidder and Co. (alias the Dyffryn Main Colliery Co.) Subsequently it was resold in 1874 to the United Company (Dynevor Dyffryn and Neath Abbey United Collieries Company).
Arranged into financial records, correspondence, deeds and leases, and auction posters.
Source not recorded.
Compiled by Andrew Dulley for the ANW project.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at the Neath Mechanics' Institute.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records have been retained.
Accruals are not expected.