Haverfordwest Rural District Council Records

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Records of Haverfordwest Rural District Council, 1847-1975, comprising Clerk's department records, 1847-1975, including minutes of the Council and its predecessors, 1870-1974, and committees, 1897-1961, attendance registers, 1895-1971, correspondence and subject files, 1879-1975, office papers, 1950-1970, printed miscellanea, 1847-1971, registers of deeds, 1881-1973, licences and permissions, 1937-1952, and burial records, 1925-1974; Treasurer's department records, 1847-1974, including estimated expenditures, 1904-1930, abstracts of accounts, 1945-1973, general ledgers, 1922-1941, valuation lists, 1847, 1898-1974, and rate books, 1882, 1928-1965; health records, 1884-1948, including Medical Officer of Health annual reports, 1884-1945, and housing inspection returns, 1911-1948; Surveyor's department records, 1855-1973, including agreements, deeds and specifications, 1855-1950, and maps and plans, 1889-1964.

Administrative / Biographical History

Haverfordwest Rural District Council (RDC) was created under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1894. It originally comprised the parishes of Ambleston, Boulston, Brawdy, Cartlett, Castlebythe, Dale, Fishguard, Freystrop, Goodwick, Granston, Hamlet of St Martins, Hamlet of St Thomas, Haroldston St Issells, Haroldston West, Hasguard, Hayscastle, Henry's Moat, Herbrandston, Hubberston, Jordanston, Letterston, Little Newcastle, Llandeloy, Llanfair Nant-y-gof, Llangwm, Llanhywel, Llanllawer, Llanrheithan, Llanrhian, Llanstinan, Llanwnda, Llanychâr, Marnawan, Marloes, Mathri, Morfil, Neyland, Nolton, North Prendergast, Pont-faen, Puncheston, Robeston West, Roch, Rudbaxton, St Brides, St Davids, St Dogwells, St Edrens, St Elvis, St Ishmael's, St Laurence, St Nicholas, Spittal, Steynton, Trefgarn, Uzmaston, Walton East, Walton West, Walwyn's Castle, Wiston and Whitchurch. Neyland, Fishguard (North) and Goodwick were made urban districts in 1900, 1906, and 1922 respectively, ceasing to form part of the council area. In 1934, Burton, Llanstadwell and Rosemarket were transferred from Pembroke Rural District. The Council comprised councillors and a chairman and inherited powers from the local highway boards and Haverfordwest Poor Law Union, acting as the Rural Sanitary Authority. Their responsibilities included sanitary services, sewerage, refuse collection, maintaining local roads, cemeteries and parks, licensing of public entertainments, water supply and housing. It also became a rating authority in 1925. RDCs were administered by a number of committees and by appointed officers including a Clerk, Treasurer, Public Health Inspector, Housing Officer, Surveyor and Rating Officer. Haverfordwest RDC was abolished in 1974 following local government reorganisation and its functions were assumed by Preseli Pembrokeshire District Council.

Arrangement

Arranged into the following: Health department; Surveyor's department; Clerk's department; and Treasurer's department.

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

Received from Mr Jeffrey, St Davids, 1976; deposited by David Bowen, Secretary to Preseli District Council, 1979, and by H. J. Dickman, formerly Clerk to Haverfordwest RDC, 1979, 1981; transferred from Modern Records, 1983; transferred by Preseli District Council, 1985; deposited by the Solicitor's Department, Preseli Pembrokeshire District Council, 1986, by R. Griffiths, Preseli Pembrokeshire District Council, 1988, by J. D. R. Nicholas, Rating Office, Preseli Pembrokeshire District Council, 1988, and by Pembrokeshire County Council's Transportation and Environment Department per the Records Management Unit, 2001; and transferred by Pembrokeshire County Council, Haverfordwest, 2002.

Note

Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Pembrokeshire Record Office, Haverfordwest Rural District Council, catalogue; Jackson, W. Eric, The Structure of Local Government in England and Wales (London: Longmans, 1949); Hey, David, Oxford Dictionary of Local and Family History (Oxford, 1997); Richards, Melville, Welsh Administrative and Territorial Units (Cardiff, 1969).

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Pembrokeshire Record Office.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained

Custodial History

Following the abolition of the council, its papers passed to various successor bodies.

Accruals

Accruals are not expected

Related Material

Further records are in Pembrokeshire Record Office, HDX/891, PCC/HE/2/163-188.