Scope and Content

The Collection holds 11,000 17th, 18th and 19th century prints.

These include some 450 loose pages from The Evangelical Magazine showing portraits of clergymen of the 19th century.

A box of nearly 200 loose plates with many by H. Gastineau and mainly depicting views of Wales and the Border counties.

A collection of 15 bound volumes dated 1852-1862 contains prints of views of Wales by artists such as H. Gastineau, J. L. Neale, J. Nixon, and P. Sanby.

The Collection also holds 17 atlas folio volumes of prints entitled Welsh Counties Illustrated and MSS History.

There is a separate volume for each of the following counties (sic): Glamorgan, Anglesey, Meirioneth, Cardigan, Montgomery, Radnor, Brecknock, Flintshire, Pembroke, Carnarvon, Denbighshire, Monmouth, Carmarthen, Hereford, Shropshire and Cheshire (2 volumes).

A total of 950 pages of these volumes are filled with black and white prints, coloured prints, pen and ink sketches and watercolours showing various landscapes, churches, cathedrals, abbeys, castles, industrial scenes and people from all the counties of Wales and the Border areas.

Volume 2 for Cheshire also contains a set of photographs of churches, together with views of Northwich signed by James Mudd and dated 1861.

As well as the artists named above, the volumes contain prints by J. S. Prout, J. Romney, G. Cuitt and Samuel and Nathaniel Buck.

Of particular interest in these volumes is a collection of some 270 maps and town plans.

The earliest maps are drawn by John Speede and dated 1610.

The Collection holds Speede maps for the following counties: Flint, Carnarvon, Denbigh, Monmouth, Brecknock, Cheshire, Anglesey, Merioneth, Hereford, Cardigan and Montgomery.

Other cartographers include Robert Morden, Richard Blome, H. Moll, E. & T. Bowen, T. Kitchen, R. Rowe and Thomas Dix.

In particular, the volume for Monmouth contains (inter alia) a map by John Speede (1610), a map from Camden's Britannia (Edmund Gibson edn.1695), The 'Larger' Morden, and maps by Richard Blome (1673), H. Moll (1724), E. & T. Bowen (1770) and Thomas Dix (1830).