Section of Anaesthesia

Scope and Content

Minutes of Council and meetings, syllabuses of meetings, and one file of administrative material.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Section of Anaesthetics [later renamed the Section of Anaesthesia] replaced the independent Manchester and District Society of Anaesthetists in 1950. The Section has invited speakers of national and international reputation to address Section meetings. Joint meetings are now held with the Liverpool Society of Anaesthetists. The Society awards the Astra/Zeneca prize and the Abbott prize to registrars for research and clinical studies in anaesthesia.