- Private ledgers, 1904-1936.
Records of David Strathie and Sons, chartered accountants, Glasgow
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The accountancy firm of John Dalgleish, at 37 West Nile Street, Glasgow, first appears in the Glasgow Post Office Directories in 1878. By 1881 John Dalgleish had been joined by David Strathie to form the partnership of Dalgleish & Strathie, at 54 St Vincent Street, Glasgow. The partnership was dissolved around 1884, when David Strathie entered into partnership with W Robertson Strong, founding the firm of Strathie & Strong at 133 St Vincent Street, Glasgow. By 1891 this partnership had also been dissolved, and David Strathie had set up on his own at 162 St Vincent Street, Glasgow. By 1904 the firm had become known as David Strathie & Sons, and by 1929 the firm the moved to 86 St Vincent Street, Glasgow, and Arthur C Strathie had become a partner. In 1950 the firm was operating from 93 West George Street, Glasgow, and J H Strathie was another of the partners. By 1963 the firm had moved to its final address at 100 Wellington Street, Glasgow.
The arrangement of this material reflects the original order in which it was received
Conditions Governing Access
Other Finding Aids
Digital file level list available in searchroom
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Archivist.
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures
Location of Originals
This material is original
No known publications using this material
Description compiled in line with the following international standards: International Council on Archives, ISAD(G) Second Edition, September 1999 and National Council on Archives, Rules for the construction of personal, place and corporate names
Fonds level compiled by Vikki Laidlaw, Hub Project Assistant, 13 December 2005. Lower levels converted to Encoded Archival Description by Alma Topen, Senior Assistant Archivist (Cataloguing), 04 April 2013.