Papers of Stamp, Jackson and Procter, Solicitors (1852 - )

Scope and Content

This small but valuable collection of solicitors papers is largely composed of manorial records and plans.

The collection in detail is as follows. U DSJ/1-3 comprises court rolls and call rolls for the manor of Broomfleet (1798-1926) including a rental roll 1798-1853. U DSJ/4-28 comprises papers relating to the manor of Cottingham Sarum (1625-1925) including court rolls and call rolls, some rentals including three from the 17th century, a 1625 valuation of the manor, and 1811 survey, and miscellaneous papers of the Burton family going back to the 17th century and including valuations of property held by Richard Burton of Hull Bank and Beverley, an early 19th century pedigree and some papers of Napier Christie Burton, his wife and son (see U DDCV[2]/57).

U DSJ/29-33 comprises account books of fines for the seignory of Holderness (1741-1840). U DSJ/34-49 comprises court rolls for the manor of Hornsea (1814-1942) with two indexes to surrenders (1814-1935). U DSJ/50-59 comprises court rolls for the manor of Leven (1747-1940) with two indexes to surrenders (1708-1940). U DSJ/60-65 (1748-1796) comprises enclosure awards for Sutton and Stoneferry, Somergangs and Sculcoates in the parish of Drypool, Myton Carr, Long Riston and Arnold, Leven, West Ella, Kirk Ella and Willerby. U DSJ/66-68 comprises acts of parliament (1763-1802) including the Marfleet enclosure act and a volume of local enclosure acts, improvement acts, drainage and navigation acts and the Hull Dock act. Two miscellaneous items in the collection are catalogued as U DSJ/69-70, one being a 20th century copy of extracts from pains of court of sewers for the East Riding 1783-1849 and the other being a copy of T Tindall Wildridge's 'Old and New Hull' bound in 16th century oak panelling from the Hull Grammar School (there are two more copies in the Brynmor Jones Library bound in the same oak panelling).

The remainder of this collection, catalogued as U DSJ/71-110, is made up of maps and plans (1778-1945) some highlights of which include an 1894 plan showing the parliamentary divisions and polling districts of Hull, an 1882 plan of the proposed boundary extension of Hull, the plans of several housing developments and business premises and of the estate of the Hull Dock Company, an1876 plan of North Hall estate in Wallingfen, the enclosure plans of Hollym and Withernsea, an 1821 plan of Sutton on Hull, an 1872 plan of the Camerton Hall estate of the Ringrose family, the 1911 Hull Corporation scheme for carriage of water to Holderness, an 1849 plan of the estate of Samuel Hall Egginton in Ferriby and a tracing of the enclosure plan of Patrington showing the property of the Maister family.

Note: Two volumes of Cottingham Sarum Court Rolls, circa 1838 - [1845?] and circa 1845 - circa 1873 arrived at the Archives on 1 November 1969. They were in a tea-chest and almost completely ruined by water- backs missing, broken into sections, soaked into solid masses. The damage was long-standing, and practically irreparable.

This collection includes materials in both English and Latin.

Administrative / Biographical History

Stamp Jackson and Procter are a long-established firm of Hull solicitors, originally formed in 1852 by the partnership of George Stamp, who had been practising as a solicitor since at least 1846, and Brian Boyes Jackson. They began life as Stamp and Jackson and had business premises at 10 Parliament Street and by 1872 a new partnership with Henry Birks had seen a name change to Stamp Jackson and Birks and a change of premises to 1 Quay Street. George Stamp was no longer with the firm.

In 1892 Brian Boyes Jackson died. In 1902 the firm moved from Quay Street to 5 Parliament Street and they have occupied these premises since. By this time, Henry Birks's son, William Birks, was also in partnership, along with the sons of Bryan Boyes Jackson - Harold Ringrose Jackson and Charles Neville Jackson. The firm did a lot of work for landed families of the county, explaining the estate papers in this collection. Amongst their principal clients were the Constables of Burton Constable, explaining the Holderness manorial records in DSJ, and Harold Ringrose Jackson was described as 'steward of the seignory of Holderness and demesne manors'. The firm continued in its name of Stamp Jackson and Birks until 1928, by which stage Henry Birks was dead, his son had retired and a third generation of Jacksons was represented by Harold Ringrose Jackson's son, Captain Harold Edward Jackson.

In 1929 the firm changed its name to Stamp Jackson and Son around the time that another third-generation-Jackson, Maurice Jackson, also joined the firm. His father was Charles Neville Jackson who retired an octogenarian in 1958. During the 1950s the firm incorporated the single-person practices of S B Andrew, of Hull and Goxhill, Lincolnshire, and John L Saxelby, a Hull practice dating from the early nineteenth century. In 1959 H Gerald Procter joined Stamp Jackson and Son becoming a partner in 1960 when the firm changed to its present name. The connection with the seignory of Holderness continued, Gerald Procter holding the title of 'coroner for the wapentake of Holderness' from 1964 until its abolition in 1974. However, the firm also broadened out into commercial and domestic conveyancing, agricultural law, litigation, trusts and probate.

In 1968 Captain Harold Edward Jackson retired and Gerald Procter amalgamated the firm with Last Suddards and Co of Bradford and Atha Denison Suddards and Co of York, the separate parts of which continued to practice under their own names. This arrangement continued until 1974 with the incorporation of Miller and Lurie and in 1977 Stamp Jackson and Procter completed its last amalgamation, with Dixon and Trout. The latter had, like Stamp Jackson and Procter, been successor to a mid-nineteenth century law practice. The oldest constituent part of Stamp Jackson and Procter is Iveson West and Wilkinson (amalgamated in 1969) dating from the late eighteenth century, making Stamp Jackson and Procter one of the most historically-interesting legal firms in Kingston upon Hull. Gerald Procter (b.1931) was senior partner specialising in commercial trust and taxation matters until his retirement in 1997 and his son, Andrew C T Procter (b.1958), had also joined the firm. The senior litigation partners were Michael V Harne (b.1944) and Paul W J Holland (b.1956).

[The information for the administrative history of Stamp Jackson and Procter was kindly supplied by H Gerald Procter]


U DSJ/1-3 Manor of Broomfleet, 1798 - 1926

U DSJ/4-28 Manor of Cottingham Sarum, 1625 - 1925

U DSJ/29-33 Seigniory of Holderness, 1741 - 1840

U DSJ/34-49 Manor of Hornsea, 1814 - 1942

U DSJ/50-59 Manor of Leven, 1708 - 1940

U DSJ/60-65 Enclosure Awards, 1748 - 1799

U DSJ/66-68 Acts of Parliament, 1763 - 1802

U DSJ/69-70 Miscellaneous, 1783 - circa 1889

U DSJ/71-110 Maps and Plans, post 1768 - 1927

Access Information

Access will be granted to any accredited reader

Other Finding Aids

Entry in Landed family and estate archives subject guide

Custodial History

Deposited by Stamp Jackson and Procter, Hull, in 1965.

Related Material

From the Papers of Crust Todd and Mills Solicitors [U DDCV2/57]

Papers of the Burton Family [U DDCB]

Other repositories:

Papers of Stamp Jackson and Procter, Hull City Archives