'A General Account of the Hunterian Museum, Glasgow by Captain J. Laskey', the author's holograph draft for the printers, 265 folios. Following the draft are a series of letters from the author to the printers, Messrs John Smith & Son of Glasgow, May-July 1813 (fos 186-204 and 210), as well as two letters from Thomas Hopkirk (fos 211 and 212), two from Thomas C. Carpenter (fos 230 and 232), and one from James Couper of Glasgow College (fo. 244), all to Messrs Smith, together with addenda and corrigenda sheets, corrected proofs and printers' memoranda, all relating to the work.
John Laskey: Account of the Hunterian Museum
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Captain John Laskey was a member of the Wernerian Society of National History at Edinburgh. In addition to the account of the Hunterian Museum, he was author of A description of the series of medals struck at the National medal mint by order of Napoleon Bonaparte (London, 1818), and several papers in miscellaneous collections.
The Hunterian Museum of the University of Glasgow first opened in 1807, and is the oldest public museum in Scotland. It was endowed by the surgeon John Hunter, F.R.S. (1728-1793), and houses his large collection of material relating to anatomy, pathology, osteology and natural history. Since its inception the Museum has acquired other specimens to suppliment Hunter's collection.
Open for consultation by holders of a Reader's Ticket valid for the Manuscripts Reading Room.
Presented by Spencer George Perceval, 1921.
Description compiled by Robert Steiner, Department of Manuscripts and University Archives.
Other Finding Aids
Additional Manuscripts Catalogue.
The account was printed in Glasgow, 1813.