Magor Rural District Council Records

Scope and Content

Records of Magor Rural District Council, 1895-1935.

Administrative / Biographical History

Magor Rural District Council (RDC), Monmouthshire, was established under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1894 and comprised the parishes of Bishopston, Cemais, Christchurch, Goldcliff, Langstone, Llandevenny, Llan-wern, Llanvaches, Llanfarthin, Llangattock, Llanhenwg, Magor, Nash, Penhow, Redwick, Tredunnock, Whitson and Wilcrick. The Council comprised a number of councillors and a chairman and initially replaced the local sanitary authorities. Its responsibilities included sanitary services, sewerage, refuse collection, maintaining local roads, cemeteries and parks, licensing of public entertainments, water supply and housing. RDCs were administered by a number of committees and by appointed officers including a Clerk, Treasurer, Medical Officer of Health, Surveyor and Sanitary Inspector. Magor RDC was abolished in 1935 and was mostly absorbed by the new Magor and St Mellons RDC.


To be supplied

Access Information

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

No information found


Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Gwent Record Office, Magor Rural District Council, catalogue; Jackson, W. Eric, The Structure of Local Government in England and Wales (London: Longmans, 1949); Hey, David, Oxford Dictionary of Local and Family History (Oxford, 1997); A Vision of Britain website (, viewed 14 September 2005.

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Gwent Record Office.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained


Accruals are not expected

Geographical Names