Gwytherin Board/Council School, records of

Scope and Content

Gwytherin Board/Council School opened on 23rd October 1871.

The first log book starts in October 1871 and on page 6 (ED/LB/36/2) there is a reference to the fact that the school house and premises were to be completed. When the school first opened many of the scholars had never been inside a school so the first weeks consisted of mainly drill exercise.

The first head teacher was Daniel Charles Currie. He was followed by Robert Roberts in 1874 and William Hughes in 1875. In January 1876 the new head teacher was Richard Jones who was in post until his death in January 1905 after 29 years. He often complained of the poor attendance of the scholars 'Many of the farmers, with impudence, violate the provision of the 1876 Education Act relating to child employment in agricultural labour…’ (ED/LB/36/2 – page 42) and the difficulties of teaching and progress with high absence. After his death his son David Jones took over as head teacher until 1923, he was followed by CE Jones in 1924.

In 1925 there were 43 scholars on the books. CE Jones left in December 1937 and was followed by head teachers EO Roberts in 1938, Owen Jones in 1947, and Noel Jones in 1958.

In April 1938 there was some discussion of 3 schools – Gwytherin, Pandy Tudur, and Llangernyw becoming one school on a central site but at this stage the site wasn’t determined.

The school closed on 22nd December 1965 as only 4 pupils were remaining. Mrs Elizabeth Jones was the last Head Teacher.

These pupils were transferred to Pandy Tudur School. Pandy Tudur Council School was closed in 1969 and a new school, Ysgol Bro Cernyw, was opened as a combined school and community centre in Llangernyw to take all pupils from Llangernyw, Pandy Tudur, Trofarth and Gwytherin.

This collection includes log books, admission registers and attendance registers.


Gwytherin LL22

OS Map X11. 13 – 1875 Edition – 1st Edition – School (Boys and Girls)

Related material-

ED/X/62/5-8, 22 and 34- Managers’ minutes

ED/MB/62/2-3- Pandy Tudur and Gwytherin schools, 1935-1968

DD/DM/341/58 – Denbighshire Free Press – November 8th 1969 – Page 10.

ED/SB/9- Records of Gwytherin School Board

Access Information

This collection is open for research. It is advisable to book in advance, for details and opening hours see Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Denbighshire Archive Service will advise where this is the case.

Related Material

ED/X/62/5-8, ED/X/62/22, ED/X/62/34, ED/MB/62/2-3

Geographical Names