A grammar school was in existence in the parish from 1652, and was converted to a Boys' National School in 1858. The equivalent Girls' and Infants' School began in 1836, and new buildings were erected in 1872. The Boys' had new premises built in 1896-7. In 1928 the two schools were amalgamated, and became known as the Dorchester Church of England Mixed and Infant School.
In 1947 the junior department evolved into St.Birinus Church of England controlled (primary) school, while the senior section became the Abbey School. This latter school was replaced by a Secondary Modern School at Berinsfield in 1959.
This collection, which covers the period 1858-1986, was deposited in two installments: in July 1987 (accession 2691) and April 1994 (accession 3803).
The documents include log books, attendance registers, building plans, reports, photographs, correspondence, cash books, receipts and other financial records.
In compiling this catalogue, the arrangement has attempted to reflect the development of the schools; the first section contains those documents which appear to relate to both the Boys' and the Girls' and Infants' Schools (rather than either specifically) prior to their merger. Records of the Abbey School after its move to Berinsfield can be found catalogued with the reference code S29.
Other Dorchester school material can be found among the parish records, which were deposited in 1976.
Catalogued by Mark Priddey, May 1994.