The collection contains four typescript reminiscences by Lou Wootton (born 1918). They recordmemories from different stages of his life in Nottingham. 'Neighbours and Characters of Radford' and'The Green Fields of Aspley' focus on the life, people and the countryside around Radford,Nottingham in the 1920s and 1930s. 'Return Journey / The Eleven Who Came Back / Forty Years On'reflects on the Dunkirk evacuation and Normandy D-Day landings during the Second World War in whichhe was involved. 'Dame Agnes Mellers Lads Club / Shape and Steadfast' recalls Wootton's years in theBoys Brigade.
Personal reminiscences by Lou Wootton (born 1918) of employment and life in Nottingham,1930s-1980s
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 159 MS 462
- Dates of Creation1998
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description4 items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Lou Wootton was born in Radford, Nottinghamshire in 1918. He spent much of his working lifeemployed by John Player and Sons, cigarette manufacturers of Nottingham. It is not clear at whatstage he decided to record his experiences of life in the factory, and of other issues concerningthe local area; the typescript copies which comprise the collection appear to have been created inthe late twentieth century.
No archival arrangement has been necessary.
ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers.
Other Finding Aids
- This description is the only finding aid available for the collection. Copyright on thedescription belongs to the University of Nottingham.
Conditions Governing Use
REPROGRAPHIC: Reprographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposesonly, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.
COPYRIGHT: Identification of copyright holders of unpublished material is often difficult.Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must be sought in advancein writing from the Keeper of Manuscripts and Special Collections (email email@example.com).
The collection was acquired by the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections in March1998.