Chirk Boys National school opened in 1824, on Church Street with 100 pupils. In both 1919 and 1941 fires destroyed the south end of the school.
Chirk National School for Girls opened in 1844 on Holyhead road with 130 pupils, the school was funded by Mrs Middleton Biddulph, who lived in Chirk Castle. In 1870 the school was enlarged with 2 classrooms and a porch, in 1903 two more rooms were buils to accommodate infants.
On the 27th July 1951 the boys school closes and moves to the girls school, in September 1951 the two schools merged to become Chirk Junior Controlled School. In 1967 the school closes and pupils are transferred to Ceiriog Junior School.
This collection includes log books and managers minutes.