Cemaes Rural District Council Records

Scope and Content

Records of Llanfyrnach, St Dogmaels and Cemaes Rural District Councils, 1838-1976, comprising Clerk's records, 1856-1976, including minutes, 1910-1974, miscellaneous registers, 1920-1974, deeds and leases, 1901-1970, byelaws, 1913-1968, photographs, [c. 1900]-1974, public health files, 1969-1976, subject files relating to finance, sewerage, housing, water and other subjects, 1938-1973, attendance registers, 1937-1974, and agreements and contracts, 1935-1956; Medical Officer of Health reports, 1920-1938; Sanitary Inspector's records, 1902-1950; District Surveyors' records, 1838-1973, including tithe and water maps and plans; Treasurer's department records, 1907-1974, including general and parochial ledgers, 1907-1974, reviews and reports, 1961-1973, wages and salaries records, 1930-1958, and valuation lists and rate books, 1928-1972.

Administrative / Biographical History

Llanfyrnach and St Dogmaels Rural District Councils in Pembrokeshire were created under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1894. Llanfyrnach rural district comprised the parishes of Capel Colman, Castellan, Clydai, Llanfyrnach, Penrhydd, and West Cilrhedyn. St Dogmaels rural district comprised Bayvil, Bridell, Cilgerran, Dinas, Eglwyswrw, Llanfair Nant Gwyn, Llanfihangel Penbedw, Llantwyd, Llanychlwydog, Maenordeifi, Melinau, Monington, Moylgrove, Nevern, Newport, St Dogmaels and Whitechurch (Eglwyswen). In 1934, the councils were amalgamated to form Cemaes Rural District Council. The Councils comprised councillors and a chairman, and their responsibilities included sanitary services, sewerage, refuse collection, maintaining local roads, cemeteries and parks, licensing of public entertainments, water supply and housing. They also became rating authorities in 1925. Rural District Councils were administered by a number of committees and by appointed officers including a Clerk, Treasurer, Public Health Inspector, Housing Officer, Surveyor and Rating Officer. Cemaes Rural District Council was abolished in 1974 following local government reorganisation and its functions were assumed by Preseli Pembrokeshire District Council.


Arranged into the following: Clerk's department; health department; Surveyors' department; and Treasurer's department.

Access Information

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

Deposited from various sources: parts transferred from Modern Records, 1981, 1983; transferred by the Finance Department, Carmarthen District Council, Spilman Street, Carmarthen, 1984; transferred from Preseli District Council, 1985; deposited by the Solicitor's Department, Preseli Pembrokeshire District Council, 1986; deposited by Mr R. Griffiths, Preseli Pembrokeshire District Council, 1988; deposited per Councillor E. G. Setterfield, 1997; transferred by Pembrokeshire County Council, Haverfordwest, 2002; deposited by Mr K. Bartlett of the Transportation and Environment Dept, Pembrokeshire County Council, 2003; and transferred from the Records Management Unit.


Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Pembrokeshire Record Office, Cemaes Rural District Council, catalogue; Jackson, W. Eric, The Structure of Local Government in England and Wales (London: Longmans, 1949); Hey, David, Oxford Dictionary of Local and Family History (Oxford, 1997); Richards, Melville, Welsh Administrative and Territorial Units (Cardiff, 1969).

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Pembrokeshire Record Office.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply

Appraisal Information

Only a sample of Treasurer's vouchers have been retained. The remainder have been destroyed.


Accruals are not expected

Related Material

Records of the former Cardigan Poor Law Union, whose functions were partly assumed by the Rural District Councils, are in Pembrokeshire Record Office, SPU/4.