This volume contains details extracted from 7 early land valuations for Aberdeenshire, which were known to survive for the period 1634 - 1795. It contains: This volume contains details extracted from 7 early land valuations for Aberdeenshire, which were known to survive for the period 1634 - 1795. It contains: Full transcripts (for every parish in the Shire) of the 1634, 1674 and 1755 valuations; Full transcripts (for every parish in the Shire) of the 1634, 1674 and 1755 valuations; Notes of changes between the 1755 and 1795 valuations; Notes of changes between the 1755 and 1795 valuations; Comparison of the total valuations (for each Presbytery within the Shire) in 1634, 1644, 1649, 1667 and 1674
Valuation book of lands in Aberdeenshire, 1634 - 1795
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 231 AU MS 0507
- Dates of Creation1802
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description[Not recorded] No physical characteristics affecting use of collection
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Commissioners of Supply were introduced to Scotland in the seventeenth century. Commissioners were chosen from the wealthy land-owning classes of each of the old Scottish counties, and appointed, initially at least, for the specific purpose of allocating and collecting the cess , or land tax from their peers. The tax was first introduced on a regular basis in 1643, and records created in the course of its collection are known variously (depending on date and place) as land tax returns, valuation books, or stent rolls. From the middle ages, burghs had organised their own form of taxation in the form of feu charters, under which owners paid a fixed sum in perpetuity. The system of land tax introduced by the Exchequer in 1643 was however, eventually extended to cover the burgh authorities as well as the counties.
The Commissioners were later entrusted with other duties, such as the enforcement of the Education Act of 1696, and from 1718 shared responsibilities with the Justices of the Peace for roads and bridges. Their responsibilities were gradually diminished by local government reorganisation after 1832, in particular the Valuation of Lands Act of 1854, and the introduction of county councils in 1889, although they continued to work alongside county councils on joint police committees until 1929.
Conditions Governing Access
Open, subject to signature accepting conditions of use at reader registration sheet
Source not recorded.
Other Finding Aids
Very brief collection level description available on Aberdeen University Library Catalogue, accessible online http://www.abdn.ac.uk/diss/library/
Alternative Form Available
No copies known
Conditions Governing Use
Subject to the condition of the original, copies may be supplied for private research use only on receipt of a signed undertaking to comply with current copyright legislation.
Permission to make any published use of material from the collection must be sought in advance from the Head of Special Libraries and Archives (e-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org ) and, where appropriate, from the copyright owner. Where possible, assistance will be given in identifying copyright owners, but responsibility for ensuring copyright clearance rests with the user of the material.
This material has been appraised in line with normal procedures
No accruals expected
The Valuation of the County of Aberdeen for the year 1667. Printed from the original manuscript (now at Fettercairn House) by permission of Lord Clinton, ed. by Alistair and Henrietta Tayler (Aberdeen:Third Spalding Club, 1933)