Bruce, Scottish National Antarctic Expedition

Scope and Content

  • MS 101/3;BJ Journal, 6 to 26 January 1903 [Original manuscript journal of the expedition] 1 volume, holograph
  • MS 101/4;BJ Journal extracts, 4 February and 22 February and 21 to 26 March and 27 November 1903 [Typed extracts from journal number 3] 1 volume, typed transcript
  • MS 101/5;BJ Journal, 7 April to 24 May 1904 [Original manuscript journal of the expedition] 1 volume, holograph
  • MS 101/102;MSM 'Rough sketch of Laurie Island, South Orkneys' (only approximate) for James G Ferrier [Marked not for publication, Ferrier was secretary of the expedition during or after which time this map was presumably drawn, the published version appears facing page 145 of The Voyage of the Scotia (1906)] 1 leaf, holograph

Administrative / Biographical History

The Scottish National Antarctic Expedition, 1902-1904 (leader William Speirs Bruce) undertook exploration of the Weddell Sea. To the west of Queen Maud Land the expedition discovered Coats Land, which was named for James Coats Jr and Major Andrew Coats who had supported the expedition.

A meteorological observatory (Omond House) was established on Laurie Island, South Orkney Islands which was later transferred to the Argentine government who continue to run it to this day. (Laurie Island is now the oldest continuously operational observatory in the region.)

The expedition conducted a comprehensive scientific program, plans were made to search for the missing Swedish South Polar Expedition, 1901-1903 (leader Nils Otto Nordenskjld) but were set aside when news of their rescue by the Argentine naval ship Uruguay arrived.



Related Material

The Institute holds several archival collections containing material regarding this expedition see GB 015 Scottish National Antarctic Expedition, 1902-1904, Ships logs and plans for more information.

Corporate Names