Papers concerning Sketty Park House, 1845-1852; papers relating to the Leaver Trust, 1875-1883; and papers regarding the Sir Robert Armine Morris Trust, 1929-1939.
Morris Estate Papers
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Sketty Park, formerly belonging to Lord Brooke, was enclosed with a wall by the grandfather of Sir John Armine Morris (1813-1893), 3rd Bart. Sketty Park was built around 1820. Sir John was succeeded by his eldest son Sir Robert Armine Morris (1848-1927), 4th Bart.
Arranged into the following: three bundles of papers relating mainly to Sketty Park House; papers regarding the Leaver Trust; and papers regarding Sir R.A. Morris Trust.
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Mair James for the HMC/NLW Family and Estates project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Collis, Kim, The West Glamorgan Archive Service: A Guide to the Collections (West Glamorgan Archive Service, 1998); Burke's Peerage, Baronetage and Knightage (London, 1959); Nicholas, Thomas, Annals and Antiquities of the Counties and County families of Wales (London, 2 vols, 1872), vol. II.
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue is available at West Glamorgan Archive Service and the National Register of Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
Information not available
Accruals are not expected