Morris Estate Papers

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Papers concerning Sketty Park House, 1845-1852; papers relating to the Leaver Trust, 1875-1883; and papers regarding the Sir Robert Armine Morris Trust, 1929-1939.

Administrative / Biographical History

Sketty Park, formerly belonging to Lord Brooke, was enclosed with a wall by the grandfather of Sir John Armine Morris (1813-1893), 3rd Bart. Sketty Park was built around 1820. Sir John was succeeded by his eldest son Sir Robert Armine Morris (1848-1927), 4th Bart.

Arrangement

Arranged into the following: three bundles of papers relating mainly to Sketty Park House; papers regarding the Leaver Trust; and papers regarding Sir R.A. Morris Trust.

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.

Note

Compiled by Mair James for the HMC/NLW Family and Estates project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Collis, Kim, The West Glamorgan Archive Service: A Guide to the Collections (West Glamorgan Archive Service, 1998); Burke's Peerage, Baronetage and Knightage (London, 1959); Nicholas, Thomas, Annals and Antiquities of the Counties and County families of Wales (London, 2 vols, 1872), vol. II.

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue is available at West Glamorgan Archive Service and the National Register of Archives.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

Information not available

Accruals

Accruals are not expected

Related Material

Further papers relating to the Morris estate are University of Swansea, LIS Archives: Morris papers; and West Glamorgan Archive Service: D/D Sk.

Geographical Names