Parish records of Seaton Ross

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1653-1721, 1723-1874 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1777-1781); register of marriages, 1670-1716, 1723-1980, 1989-2001; register of burials, 1653-1895 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1777-1812); register of banns, 1824-1948; register of services, 1901-1972; register of confirmations, 1905-1944; register of communicants, 1901-1929, 1966-1970; charity records, including lists of bequests, 1651, 1675, 1696, 1722; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1795-1863, 1908-1909, 1922-1930, 1955-1963, survey of parish for church rate, 1856, fabric papers, 1907-1959, church choir part book, 19th century, and churchyard papers, 1934, 1936-1937; records of incumbents, including Reverend George Deane presentation committee minutes of meetings and accounts, 1921, memoranda on Seaton Ross group of parishes, 1985, dilapidations papers, 1901, 1958-1959, 1962-1971, and statistical returns, 1956-1958; overseers’ records, including accounts and assessments, 1780-1818, settlement, removal, bastardy and apprenticeship papers, 1721-1857, and notes of doles, 1739; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including parish show programme, 1927, garden fete committee minutes of meetings and accounts, 1951-1958, and summer fete accounts, 1933; school records, including managers' minutes of meetings, 1877-1951, correspondence and papers, 1902-1963, and accounts, 1877-1903; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1842-1853. 1856-1858, 1911-1922, 1935-1949, 1951-1958, electoral roll, 1920-1955, and enclosure award and map, 1814.

Administrative / Biographical History

There was a church at Seaton Ross from at least the twelfth century, when it was confirmed to the canons of Warter Priory. At this time the village was known as Seaton, ‘Ross’ was not added until the following century when the land was acquired by the de Ros family.

The present church, which is dedicated to St Edmund, was rebuilt in brick in 1788, replacing a medieval structure. It was restored in 1908 by Temple Moore, retaining much of its eighteenth century furnishings. The east stained glass window is by York glass painter Harry Stammers.

The parish historically included Lincoln Flatt, Rytham Gate and Seaton Hall.

Today the parish is part of the benefice of Holme and Seaton Ross Group, which also includes Bielby, Everingham, Harswell, and Holme on Spalding Moor.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1979 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1980, 1984, 1985 and 2001.

Note

There was a church at Seaton Ross from at least the twelfth century, when it was confirmed to the canons of Warter Priory. At this time the village was known as Seaton, ‘Ross’ was not added until the following century when the land was acquired by the de Ros family.

The present church, which is dedicated to St Edmund, was rebuilt in brick in 1788, replacing a medieval structure. It was restored in 1908 by Temple Moore, retaining much of its eighteenth century furnishings. The east stained glass window is by York glass painter Harry Stammers.

The parish historically included Lincoln Flatt, Rytham Gate and Seaton Hall.

Today the parish is part of the benefice of Holme and Seaton Ross Group, which also includes Bielby, Everingham, Harswell, and Holme on Spalding Moor.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2001.

Alternative Form Available

Selected records, including registers of christenings, 1653-1900, marriages, 1670-1900, burials, 1653-1900, and banns, 1824-1900, churchwardens' accounts, 1795-1863, and overseers' book, 1780-1818, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 765, 1757, 1768).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 02.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193