Amalgamated Union of Engineering Workers (Construction Section)

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Minutes, 1927-37, 1939-84; conference reports, etc., 1939, 1945-83; registration book; returns to Registrar, 1925-84; journal, 1968-84; some documentation re history, agreements and rates; rule books.

Administrative / Biographical History

The union was formed in 1924 by agreement with the British Iron, Steel and Kindred Trades Association from a section of members of that union. In April 1970 it became the Construction Section of the newly formed Amalgamated Union of Engineering Workers. Full merger was finally achieved in 1986 when the union became the Amalgamated Engineering Union.

Conditions Governing Access

Open.

Archivist's Note

A list of the archive is available at the Centre and the National Register of Archives. An authority file exists for the Constructional Engineering Union (GB 152 AAR518).

The records of the other sections of the Amalgamated Union of Engineering Workers are also held at the Centre : the Amalgamated Union of Engineering Workers (Engineering Section) (MSS.259) ; the Amalgamated Union of Engineering Workers (Foundry Section) (MSS.41) ; and the Amalgamated Union of Engineering Workers (Technical, Administrative and Supervisory Section) (MSS.101/DA) .

Custodial History

The archive was deposited on indefinite loan in the Centre on the 27th February 1986 by the Amalgamated Union of Engineering Workers. It is understood that some records were lost or damaged during the Second World War.