Records of Eglwys Gymyn Parish Council, Carmarthenshire, 1842-1958, including Parish Council minute books, 1894-1958; poor rate valuation book, 1847.
Eglwys Gymyn Parish Council Records
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 211 EGLWYS GYMYN PC
- Dates of Creation1842-1958 (accumulated 1894-1958)
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.015 cubic metres; 1 volume
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Prior to 1894, monthly parish vestry meetings dealt with ecclesiastical matters, rates, and local issues. Parish councils were established by the Local Government Act 1894. The records contain mainly minute books, financial statements, correspondence, copies of planning applications, and rate lists. In 1935, Eglwys Gymyn Parish Council absorbed Cyffig Parish Council. Community councils replaced parish councils under local government reorganization in 1974.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited by Rev. R. W. James, Pendine, November, 1979.
Compiled by Annette Strauch for ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of the description: Carmarthenshire Archives Service, Catalogue of Eglwys Gymyn Parish Council Records; Collis, Kim, The West Glamorgan Archive Service, A Guide to the Collections (Swansea, 1998).
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at Carmarthenshire Archives Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records have been retained
Accruals are not expected