Manchester and Salford Hospital for Diseases of the Skin

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 133 MMC/9/18
  • Former Reference
      GB 133 J b 14
  • Dates of Creation
  • Physical Description
      6 series, 71 items

Scope and Content

Note: the Medical Collection does not include any official records of this hospital. This includes any records relating to patient admissions, treatment and discharge. Some Hospital records are held by Manchester Archives and Local Studies, Central Library, St. Peter's Square, Manchester and some by Stockport Archives Service.

Six series:

  • /1 Rulebooks
  • /2 Annual reports
  • /3 History
  • /4 Building
  • /5 Fund-raising
  • /6 Pharmacopoeia

Administrative / Biographical History

In 1884, an out-patient branch of the Manchester and Salford Lock and Skin Hospital was opened in Dale Street, specifically for the treatment of skin diseases. In 1888 management of this work was handed to a new committee, and the hospital was formally constituted as the Manchester and Salford Hospital for Skin Diseases. The hospital treated skin diseases, including those caused by tuberculosis and venereal diseases. It was founded by Dr Henry Ambrose Grundy Brooke, who was physician there until his death. The Hospital moved to Quay Street in 1895 to provide more space for in-patients and increasingly numbers of out-patients. In 1901, the Hospital was the first after the London Hospital to open a department for treatment by Finsen light and x-rays. This development caused a huge rise in patient numbers and a new hospital was erected in 1906. By 1929, the hospital had accommodation for fifty four in-patients, an out-patients department, beds for private patients, and x-ray and artificial light departments. It was the largest hospital of its kind in Britain. About half the patients were from Manchester, but patients came from across the region.

From 1974 the Hospital was known as The Skin Hospital, until 1994 when it was named The University of Manchester Skin Hospital. It had moved to Chapel Street, Salford in 1990, where it was based at Hope Hospital. From 1995 the Hospital only took out-patients, and is now called The Manchester Dermatology Centre. The NHS clinical department is still one of the largest in the United Kingdom. The academic department of dermatology was founded in 1994 with the appointment of the foundation professor - Professor Griffiths. Although a relatively young department the academic group is already one of the top research centres in Europe.

There was also another skin hospital in the late nineteenth century; The Manchester Hospital for Skin, Cancer, Scrofula and all Chronic Diseases was founded in 1871, see Manchester Chronic Diseases Hospital (MMC/9/57).