Eccles and Patricroft Dispensary was a voluntary dispensary established in 1877 in Byron Street, Eccles. Around 1884 it opened as a general hospital with 12 beds at Cromwell Street, Eccles, changing its name to Eccles and Patricroft General Hospital. The local area was growing rapidly as an industrial centre and the size of the hospital soon proved inadequate. By the 1920s there were about 40 beds. An appeal was launched in 1929 to expand the accommodation to 60 beds and to fund a general expansion. This would include extra surgical beds, a medical ward, up-to-date X-ray apparatus, an accident ward and a nurses home. When it joined the NHS, the name changed to Eccles and Patricroft Hospital. It remained an acute hospital until 1966 when, with much controversy, it converted to a maternity hospital. Eccles and Patricroft became a geriatric hospital in 1974 before closing in 1985.