The Manchester Foot Hospital was founded in 1923 by members of the Incorporated Society of Chiropodists, and supported by voluntary contributions. Each clinician was expected to bring their own equipment, and members of the Society gave free service. It was first named the Manchester and District Branch Pedic Clinic, but by 1925 was called the Manchester Foot Hospital. The first premises were in Grosvenor Street and it was the second food hospital set up by the Society of Chiropodists. Larger premises were found in 1928 in Upper Brook Street. In 1930, a training school, the Manchester School of Chiropody at the hospital was established to prepare students for the examinations of the Society of Chiropodists. With this new school and an increasing number of patients, the Hospital again needed larger premises, and in 1931 moved to a large house in Victoria Park. Despite financial problems throughout the history of the Hospital, Manchester Foot Hospital managed to stay open throughout the Second World War. In 1948, Manchester Foot Hospital and School of Chiropody became part of the United Manchester Teaching Hospitals. In 1971, the Manchester Foot Hospital and School of Chiropody and the Salford College of Technology School of Chiropody merged to form the new Northern College of Chiropody. However, the Foot Hospital continued as part of the United Manchester Hospitals. The Hospital closed in the early 2000s.