St. John's Hospital of Manchester and Salford for the Ear and Eye

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 133 MMC/9/16
  • Former Reference
      GB 133 J b 12
  • Dates of Creation
      1912-1934
  • Physical Description
      19 items

Scope and Content

Note: the Medical Collection does not include any official records of this hospital. This includes any records relating to patient admissions, treatment and discharge. Some Hospital records are held by Manchester Archives and Local Studies, Central Library, St. Peter's Square, Manchester.

The collection consists of selected annual reports only.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Manchester Eye and Ear Hospital was founded as a voluntary hospital in 1888, and was renamed St John's Hospital of Manchester and Salford for the Eye and Ear in 1909. The hospital had only 12 beds, but took patients from all over the region and developed a reputation for good specialist care. Medical services for the eye were discontinued in 1913, and the hospital changed its name to St John's Hospital of Manchester and Salford for the Ear. The Hospital closed in 1949.