Collection comprises newspaper cuttings on events at the Hospital.
Park Hospital, Davyhulme [Trafford General Hospital]
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 133 MMC/9/56
- Former ReferenceGB 133 J b 53
- Dates of Creation1929-1988
- Physical Description4 items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In 1853, the old Barton-upon-Irwell Union Workhouse, built in 1783, was adapted for use as a hospital. It was known as Green Lane Hospital. However, this site was cramped and old-fashioned, and the Board of Guardians decided to build a new hospital. Building began in 1926, and in 1929, Park Hospital, Davyhulme was opened by Barton upon Irwell Board of Guardians. Park Hospital had twelve wards with 372 beds. There were separate maternity, children's and isolation blocks. The Hospital had up-to-date electrical department, providing x-ray treatment and artificial sunlight. Park Hospital was one of the final acts of the Poor Law and was taken over by Lancashire County Council 1930, only one year after it was completed. All acute cases were transferred from the old Green Lane Hospital. Green Lane Hospital became a hospital for the elderly and mentally ill, and changed its name to Bridgewater Hospital.
During the whole of World War Two, Park Hospital was used as a military hospital, treating services personnel from many nations. The Hospital was occupied by the 10th US Station Hospital, Glenn Miller is said to have entertained troops in the grounds of the hospital. The Americans left in July 1945, and Park Hospital was derequisitioned in September. On 5th July 1948, Aneurin Bevan formally launched the NHS from Park Hospital, which was the most modern hospital in Manchester at the time. In 1974 Park Hospital came under the control of Trafford Health Authority. 1986 saw elderly patients transferred from Bridgewater Hospital to the new Elderly Unit and Rehabilitation Department. Bridgewater Hospital eventually closed in 1992 when the Moorside Unit at Park Hospital opened in 1992. Park Hospital was renamed Trafford General Hospital in 1988 and now forms part of Trafford Healthcare NHS Trust.