Manchester School for the Deaf and Dumb including the Deaf and Dumb Asylum

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 133 MMC/9/38
  • Former Reference
      GB 133 J b 34
  • Dates of Creation
      1836-1950
  • Physical Description
      28 items

Administrative / Biographical History

Manchester Institution for the Deaf and Dumb was founded in 1823. The first school was opened in Stanley Street, Salford on 28th February 1825 with an initial intake of fourteen children. Children were admitted between the ages of eight and thirteen, but often stayed until they were sixteen. It was soon apparent that more space was needed and new premises were found in Old Trafford on a site shared with Henshaw's Blind Asylum. Within two years the funds had been raised to build a new school which opened on 21st June 1837. A number of branch schools opened in the later nineteenth century. The original building remained the high school, a general branch was opened at Bolton and a branch for infants at Clyne House, Stretford. In Old Trafford there were two branches, the Sir James E. Jones Branch for Industrial Training and the Henry Worrall Branch for Elder Deaf Girls. In 1897 Queen Victoria conferred the title of Royal upon the Schools and the Institution became known as the Royal Residential Schools for the Deaf, Manchester. The Royal Schools remained at Old Trafford until the outbreak of the Second World War, when the Infant School was temporarily moved to The Manor in Middlewich. By this time Old Trafford had become increasingly industrialized and it was agreed that a site in the suburbs should be found. In 1956 the new premises opened on an 80-acre site in Cheadle Hulme, where the school remains today. In 1983 the School became an all-year round residential school for deaf children with additional severe difficulties.

Related Material

The School's archives are held by Manchester Archives and Local Studies, Central Library, St. Peter's Square, Manchester (ref. M437)