Photographs of Barry Town Hall and library prior to its restoration in 2003 showing work carried out by R J Hill in his role as a building surveyor and consultant.
R J Hill of Upton Lovell Photographs
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Built between 1906 and 1908, Barry Town Hall and Library was constructed following an architectural competition held in 1903. The building was designed by the architects C E Hutchinson and E Harding Payne of London.
In 1903 the Council applied to the Andrew Carnegie Trust for a grant to enable a public library to be built. The Council was awarded a grant of £8,000, and the new library was opened by the Earl of Plymouth on 1 March 1906.
The town hall was opened in 1908, which linked up to the library with a clock tower located in the centre. A further expansion to the building was planned, but the rear elevation was never completed.
In 2001 the library was moved to the Leisure Centre to allow for the refurbishment of the town hall and library buildings. The building was restored in 2003. A new wing was provided for the new library, which opened in 2007.
The redevelopment of the former town hall building cost £371,000.
Order at time of deposit retained.
Conditions Governing Access
Donated to Wiltshire and Swindon Archives by Mr R J Hill. Transferred to Glamorgan Archives, March 2019.
Other Finding Aids
A detailed catalogue is available
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Compiled by Laura Cunningham for Glamorgan Archives, with reference to Tom Clemett's History of Barry, www.barrytowncouncil.gov.uk and www.barryanddistrictnews.co.uk
Conditions Governing Use
Normal Glamorgan Archives conditions apply.
All records which meet the collection policy of Glamorgan Archives have been retained.
The records remained in the custody of the donor until transferred to Wiltshire and Swindon Archives.
Accruals are not expected.