Parish records of Wheldrake

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1603-1657, 1670-1848 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1777-1781); register of marriages, 1603-1647, 1654-2002; register of burials, 1603-1875 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1777-1812); register of banns, 1875-1996; register of services, 1911-1991; records concerning benefice income, including tithe rentals, 1794-1818, 1820-1857, tithe accounts and correspondence, 1837-1873, 1923-1928, and drainage accounts and correspondence, 1849-1874; charity records, including minutes of meetings, 1870-1919, correspondence and papers, 1857-1974, accounts, c.1726-1975, and deeds, 1699-1864; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1740-1882, 1927-1947, restoration papers, 1778, 1873-1875, fabric papers, 1779, 1854-1978, and papers concerning the church renovation programme, 1981-1982; constables’ accounts, 1745-1882; records of incumbents, including visiting records, 1936, correspondence and papers, 1912-1976, and ecumenical correspondence, 1970-1978; overseers’ records, including accounts, 1704-1882, corn purchase and assessment accounts, 1800-1801, and assessments, 1717-1807; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including Association for Prosecution of Felons minutes of meetings and accounts, 1816-64, Clothing Club accounts and correspondence, 1866-1888, Wenlock Foresters' Friendly Society rules, 1906, Church Evangelism Committee, 1986-1990s, parish show programme, 1924, summer fete papers, 1987-1991, recreation ground accounts, 1929-1952, hospital admission tickets, 1887, East Riding Benefit Nursing Association accounts, 1930-1959, Youth Centre management committee correspondence and plans, 1970-1974, and photographs of Flower Festival, n.d; school records, including managers' minutes of meetings, 1887-1900, 1903-1949, correspondence and papers, 1869-1979, accounts, 1873-1972, and deed, 1830; surveyors’ accounts, 1760-1882; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1778-1876, 1977-1999, accounts, 1956-1995, correspondence, 1986-1998, parish survey and valuation, 1769, enclosure award, 1773, parish magazines, 1928, 1981-2000, and photocopy of parish war memorial book, 1939-1945; bi-centenary celebration papers, 1979; photographs of church events, 1994-2001.

Administrative / Biographical History

The existence of a church at Wheldrake was recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century. The advowson was gifted by the Darel family to Warter Priory and confirmed to them c.1170-1181, although it was surrendered to the Archbishop of York in 1268 and has been held by the Archbishop since that date.

The present parish church of St Helen dates largely to 1778-1779, although parts of the building, including the tower, are fourteenth and fifteenth century. After the eighteenth century rebuilding, the church was extensively restored in 1873 by architect John Thorp Webster of Hedon, with additional work by J. W. Knowles of York. A new organ was installed the following year and in 1910 a new pulpit and altar furnishings were made for the church by woodcarver Robert ‘Mouseman’ Thompson of Kilburn. The church was redecorated in 1972.

There was parsonage house in 1535. A house is recorded again in 1764 and it was enlarged around 1825. Part of the building was demolished in the 1930s and a new rectory was built in 1969.

Today the parish of Wheldrake is part of the benefice of Derwent Ings, which also includes East Cottingwith, Elvington, Sutton upon Derwent and Thorganby.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1968 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1969, 1971, 1972, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1980, 1995, 2003, 2005 and 2006.

Note

The existence of a church at Wheldrake was recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century. The advowson was gifted by the Darel family to Warter Priory and confirmed to them c.1170-1181, although it was surrendered to the Archbishop of York in 1268 and has been held by the Archbishop since that date.

The present parish church of St Helen dates largely to 1778-1779, although parts of the building, including the tower, are fourteenth and fifteenth century. After the eighteenth century rebuilding, the church was extensively restored in 1873 by architect John Thorp Webster of Hedon, with additional work by J. W. Knowles of York. A new organ was installed the following year and in 1910 a new pulpit and altar furnishings were made for the church by woodcarver Robert ‘Mouseman’ Thompson of Kilburn. The church was redecorated in 1972.

There was parsonage house in 1535. A house is recorded again in 1764 and it was enlarged around 1825. Part of the building was demolished in the 1930s and a new rectory was built in 1969.

Today the parish of Wheldrake is part of the benefice of Derwent Ings, which also includes East Cottingwith, Elvington, Sutton upon Derwent and Thorganby.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2006.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1603-1848, marriages, 1603-1885, burials, 1603-1875, and banns, 1875-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 810-811, 1763).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 22.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

Further records concerning the Wesleyan Methodist chapel and schoolroom at Wheldrake are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute as part of the Society Records of the Methodist Church.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193