Papers of the C.&L. Hill Group

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

C.&L. Hill Ltd: Minutes, 1921-1981; register of members and annual returns, 1933 - 1948; register of members and share ledger, redeemable preference shares, 1944 - 1969; share certificates, counterfoils, ordinary, 1921 - 1961, preference: 1944 - 1971; cash book: 1962 - 1973;  Journal, 1958 - 1974; private ledger: 1961 - 1966; correspondence relating to site history, 1971 - 1973.

Central Patternmaking Company Ltd: Minutes of Directors' meetings, 1955 - 1972 (includes annual general meetings, 1969 - 1978); annual general meetings, 1956 - 1967; register of members and annual returns: 1955 - 1972.

Hill-Alzen (Sales) Ltd: Minutes of Directors' meetings, 1967 - 1972, 1956 - 1967 missing, (includes annual general meetings, 1972 - 1978); annual general meetings: 1957 - 1968; register of members and annual returns,1956 - 1972; cash book: 1856 - 1972.

C.&L.Hill (Die Casting) Ltd: Minutes of Directors' meetings: 1958 - 1971 (includes annual general meetings, 1969 -1974); annual general meetings, 1959 - 1968.

Administrative / Biographical History

At June 1972 the Group consisted of the following companies: C. & L. Hill Ltd, and its subsidiaries: Central Patternmaking Co. Ltd; Hill, Alzen Sales Ltd; C. & L. Hill (Die Castings) Ltd.

The company was incorporated on 29 June 1921 to take over the assets of the business belonging to John Marshall and Mary Marshall trading as C.& L. Hill, comprising the freehold works in Stringes Lane, and certain house properties in Victoria Street and John Harper Street, Willenhall. Of the eight subscribers four were appointed directors including A.E. Owen. The firm made annealing pans and brass castings. An aluminium foundry was added in 1922. A.G.B.Owen was appointed director in March 1930. In 1934 the annealing pan business was sold, and in deciding to reduce the capital of the company, it was agreed early in 1935 to put the business into voluntary liquidation and reconstruct C. & L. Hill Ltd by forming a new company with the same name to take over the business and part of the assets. The new company was incorporated on 10 April 1934. With the sale of the iron foundry it began to specialise in non-ferrous sandcastings and non-ferrous alloys. A special product, known as "Hilchil Phosphor Bronze Bar" was also produced. Rubery Owen & Co. Ltd started to invest in the company in 1944 and bought the last remaining 33.3% preference shares in 1971. The works were closed in 1972 and the property sold. It ceased to trade in 1980. In 1981 the dormant company changed its name to Rubery Owen (Pressings & Fabrications) Ltd

Reference: Catalogue to the Collection.

Arrangement

This collection forms part of the Rubery Owen Holdings Ltd Archive

The Rubery Owen Holdings Ltd Archive has been arranged using the following classification scheme: 1 Minute Books; 2 Statutory Records; 3 Financial Records; 4 Correspondence; 5 Letter Books; 6 Printed Publications; 7 Other Publications; 8 Diaries; 9 Agreements; 10 Press - Cuttings; 11 Reports; 12 Notices; 13 Functional Records; 13.1 Preparation for Retirement; 13.2 Industrial Life & Christian Teamwork; 13.3 Group Archives.

Conditions Governing Access

There are no restrictions on access to these papers.

Acquisition Information

This collection was deposited in the Centre by Rubery Owen Holdings Ltd in 1994.

Other Finding Aids

A copy of this collection-level description is available in paper format in the Centre's searchroom. A catalogue to file level is also available in paper format in the Centre's searchroom, at the National Register of Archives in London and in Chadwyck-Healey's National Inventory of Documentary Sources.

A general collection level description exists for the Rubery Owen Holdings Ltd Archive as a whole (MSS.338). Collection level descriptions also exist for Rubery Owen Holdings Ltd and predecessors (MSS.338/RO); papers of the subsidiary companies including: Darlaston Group (MSS.338/ROD); Conveyancer Group (MSS.338/ROC); Domestic Equipment Group (MSS.338/RODE); Fasteners Group (MSS.338/ROF); Distributors Group (MSS.338/ROJ); Other Subsidiary Companies (MSS.338/ROS)

An authority record exists for Rubery Owen Holdings Ltd. (GB 152 AAR2219).

Conditions Governing Use

There are no restrictions on the use of this archive, apart from the requirements of copyright law.

Appraisal Information

This collection has been weeded for duplicates.

Accruals

Further deposits are not expected.

Related Material

Files relating to Sir Alfred's activities as a member and chairman of the Staffordshire County Council were transferred to the Staffordshire County Record Office in 1974. The Rubery Owen Photographic and Film Collection is held by the Staffordshire Film Archive at Staffordshire University.

Bibliography

A guide to the Rubery Owen Holdings Ltd Archive is available from the Modern Records Centre:

Leonard McDonald,  Rubery Owen Holdings Ltd. Archive  (University of Warwick, 1997).  Please contact the Centre's staff for further details