Cwmbwrla School Records

Scope and Content

E/S 5/1/1-2 Log books

E/S 5/2/1-11 Admission registers

E/S 5/3/1-8 Pupil Transfer forms and notes

E/S 5/4/1 Visitors book

E/S 5/5/1 Medical Inspector records

E/S 5/6/1-9 Photographs: Pupils

E/S 5/7/1 Photographs: Staff

E/S 5/8/1 Photographs: Building

E/S 5/9/1-4 Other records

Administrative / Biographical History

Cwmbwrla School originally opened in 1875 but closed again in 1877 pending the completion of a new school building. It reopened in June 1879. In 1948 the Boys Department ceased to exist and the building was vacated to make way for the Gendros Girls' School. The Boys were transferred to the Cwmbwrla Girls' Department to form the new Junior Mixed School. In 1982 the Infants and Juniors departments amalgamated to form Cwmbwrla Primary School. Cwmbwrla Primary School closed in July 2012 and merged with Manselton Primary School to form the new Burlais Primary School.

Conditions Governing Access

Items under 100 years old containing information on named individuals may be restricted in accordance with the Data Protection Act 1998.

Acquisition Information

It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.

Note

Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Education - Primary Schools, catalogue; Collis, Kim, West Glamorgan Archive Service - A Guide to the Collections (West Glamorgan Archive Service, 1998).

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained

Accruals

Accruals are not expected

Geographical Names