Records of Bangor Normal College, [c. 1855]-1984, including minutes, 1883-1978; governing body committee files, 1963-1981; annual reports, 1863-1907; constitution schemes for the Training College Committee, -; plans and other papers relating to the development of the College, 1937-1975; papers relating to courses, 1957-1974; general administration records, 1919-1983; donation books, 1861-1901; financial records, 1882-1981, including financial statements, 1917-1947, and account books, 1895-1976; staff records, 1881-1984, including wages books, 1910-1965; student fees registers and other records, 1932-1982; catering records, 1941-1968; records relating to the George Hotel, 1864-1871; minutes and other papers relating to the University Board for Training Colleges, 1930-1948, and the University Faculty of Education and Education Board, 1948-1969; British and Foreign School Society journals and reports, 1903-1905; printed material, [c. 1855]-1973; papers relating to Welsh theatre companies, 1967-1973; and photographs, [c. 1855]-1956.
Records of the Bangor Normal College
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 219 XD/91, XS/3948
- Dates of Creation[c. 1855]-1984
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish Welsh
- Physical Description(254 items)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Bangor Normal College (Coleg Normal, Bangor) was a teacher training college founded in 1858, and located in Bangor, Caernarfonshire. It developed in response to a shortage of trained teachers in Wales in the 1840s. It was created through the efforts of the British and Foreign Schools Society and Sir Hugh Owen, and was funded through £11,000 raised through subscription and £2,000 of Government money. Teaching began on temporary premises in January 1858 and the College opened on its permanent site in 1862. It was administered by a 48-member Committee of Management. This was replaced, in 1908, by the North Wales Counties Training College Committee, with representatives of the north Wales County Councils. At the same time, the College expanded and started to admit women. After the First World War, the College expanded through the purchase of the former George Hotel. The College was later run by Coleg Normal Bangor Higher Education Corporation. This was dissolved in 1996, when the College became part of University of Wales Bangor.
Arranged into the following: setting up of College; College administration; financial; staff; students; University Faculty of Education and Education Board; University Board for Training Colleges; catering; British and Foreign School Society; George Hotel; printed material; plans and sketches; miscellaneous; and photographs.
Conditions Governing Access
Closed for 40 years; access allowed with the permission of the Principal Archivist only.
No information found
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Caernarfon Record Office, Cofnodion y Coleg Normal, Bangor/Records of the Bangor Normal College, catalogue; Normal College of Higher Education, Bangor Normal College 1858-1958 (Conwy, 1958); United Kingdom Legislation website (www.legislation.hmso.gov.uk/legislation/uk.htm), viewed 6 December 2004.
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Caernarfon Record Office.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
Some catering records have not been retained.
Accruals are not expected