The Borough of Llantrisant (Glamorgan) was established in c. 1246, and the first charter was granted in 1346. Prior to the Reform of Parliament Act 1832, the boroughs of Llantrisant, Cardiff, Cowbridge, Kenfig, Aberavon, Neath, Swansea, and Loughor, voted together, and sent one burgess to parliament. After 1832, Llantrisant, Cardiff and Cowbridge jointly sent one member, and continued to do so until the Representation of the People Act 1918. Llantrisant's only court was the Court Leet View of Frankpledge, meeting in May and October, responsible for making bye-laws, general orders, and the administration of the markets. The Borough's powers were gradually superseded, and under the terms of the Municipal Corporations Act 1883, Llantrisant Borough was dissolved. In 1889, Llantrisant Town Trust was established under an order of the Charity Commissioners to administer ancient borough property; to manage the common; to enrol freemen; to maintain the pump; and to improve the town.