Records of Penmaenmawr National School

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

The collection contains records both of the Infants' School, which opened in 1867 on the northern side of what is now the A55 at Penmaenan opposite to Crimea Terrace, and of the National School which opened in 1872 at 'New York' opposite Maen Alaw, formerly the Co-operative Store.

The Infants' School closed in 1876 when its pupils transferred to the National School and the National School closed in 1961 when the children transferred to Ysgol Pencae.

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.

Related Material

CP307