Minutes 1856-1920, letter books 1864-1921, registers of members 1864-1919, shareholding records 1909-1916, cash book 1889-1916.
Dundee Corn Exchange and Public Hall Association
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Exchange was established in 1856 by Sir John Ogilvy. He offered land in Bank Street which he and others had purchased to be used as the site. The Corn Exchange and its associated buildings were used by the public for concerts, classes, meetings and a picture saleroom. It was originally administered by a committee, which included members such as John Leng, proprietor of the Dundee Advertiser, and Lord Kinnaird.
Records are arranged within series.
Open for consultation subject to preservation requirements. Access must also conform to the restrictions of the Data Protection Act and any other appropriate legislation.
Other Finding Aids
Descriptive list. Subject source lists and databases are also available.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies.
Conditions Governing Use
Reproduction is available subject to preservation requirements. Charges are made for this service, and copyright and other restrictions may apply.
The material is original.