Minutes 1863-1908, letter book 1898-1908.
Baxter Park Trustees
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Baxter Park was donated to the community by Sir David Baxter of Kilmaron (1793-1872) and his sisters Eleanor and Mary Anne (1800-1884). The layout of the park's 37 acres was designed by Sir Joseph Paxton and included grassy areas, terraced walks and shrubberies which offered 'a most agreeable summer promenade affording beautiful recreation and pure air to all classes.' In the pavilion at the centre of the park, a marble statue of Sir David was erected, paid for by public subscription. On 9 September 1863 Baxter Park was opened by the Prime Minister, Earl Russell in front of a crowd of over 70,000 people.
Originally estimated to have cost 50,000, Baxter Park was placed under the charge of Trustees. In 1903, because the Trust Investments were no longer enough to maintain the park, the Trustees handed over responsibility to the Town Council.
Records are arranged within series.
Conditions Governing Access
Open for consultation subject to preservation requirements. Access must also conform to the restrictions of the Data Protection Act and any other appropriate legislation.
Other Finding Aids
Descriptive list. Subject source lists and databases are also available.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies.
Conditions Governing Use
Reproduction is available subject to preservation requirements. Charges are made for this service, and copyright and other restrictions may apply.
The material is original.