Parish records of York, St Edward the Confessor, Dringhouses

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1849-2000; register of marriages, 1853-2007; register of burials, 1824-1890, 1953-1955; register of banns, 1928-1970; register of services, 1882-2005; register of strange preachers, 1849-1946; records concerning benefice income, including sequestration papers, 1974-1975; Miss Francis Leigh's Charity account book, 1921-1939; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1849-1893, and fabric papers, 1922-1963; records of incumbents, including subscriptions of lay electors, ruridecanal conference, 1914-1917, and parsonage house papers, 1909, 1915, 1940; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including boy scouts accounts, 1941-1952; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including accounts, 1903-12, 1936-1937, 1939, 1941, magazines, 1949-50, minutes of meetings, 1880-Jan1986; parish magazines Sept 1970-Dec 1989.

Administrative / Biographical History

The church at Dringhouses was originally a chapel-of-ease dedicated to St Helen in the parish of York, Holy Trinity Micklegate. Though the church dated back to at least the sixteenth century, the structure was rebuilt in 1725. In 1847-9 a new stone church designed by the architects Vickers and Hugill of Pontefract was built and the dedication changed to St Edward the Confessor.

The chapel-of-ease became a consolidated chapelry in 1853, with the additions of portions from York, St Mary Bishophill Senior and Acomb as well as York, Holy Trinity Micklegate.

The patronage lay with the manor of Dringhouses until 1910 when it was transferred to the Archbishop of York. In 1936 the parish was reassigned to the deanery of York from the deanery of Ainsty and a boundary change in 1968 assigned a portion to supplement the new parish of St James the Deacon, Acomb Moor

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1974 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1976, 1979, 1982, 1986, 1996, 2012 and 2015.

Note

The church at Dringhouses was originally a chapel-of-ease dedicated to St Helen in the parish of York, Holy Trinity Micklegate. Though the church dated back to at least the sixteenth century, the structure was rebuilt in 1725. In 1847-9 a new stone church designed by the architects Vickers and Hugill of Pontefract was built and the dedication changed to St Edward the Confessor.

The chapel-of-ease became a consolidated chapelry in 1853, with the additions of portions from York, St Mary Bishophill Senior and Acomb as well as York, Holy Trinity Micklegate.

The patronage lay with the manor of Dringhouses until 1910 when it was transferred to the Archbishop of York. In 1936 the parish was reassigned to the deanery of York from the deanery of Ainsty and a boundary change in 1968 assigned a portion to supplement the new parish of St James the Deacon, Acomb Moor

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2015.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1849-1964, marriages, 1853-1981, and burials, 1824-1890, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 839).

Archivist's Note

Created 13.11.15

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

For related material held by the Borthwick Institute, see the parish records of York, St Mary Bishophill Senior which include a church rate assessment book for Clementhorpe (including Dringhouses), 1836-1837.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193