Maes-y-gelynen Estate Records

Scope and Content

Deeds of properties in Loughor, Llangyfelach, Swansea and Llanelli, 1743-1907; maps and plans, [late 18th cent.], [c. 1907] and Swansea Canal Bill papers, [c. 1794].

Administrative / Biographical History

Bevexe-fach farm and other smaller adjoining properties, situated between Gowerton and Dunvant, in the parish of Loughor were acquired by Ann Elizabeth Walker of Gelli-feddan in the parish of Llangyfelach and David Thomas of Maes-y-gelynen near Morriston. The Swansea Canal was constructed by the Swansea Canal Navigation Company between 1794-1798. It was used for transporting coal from the Upper Swansea Valley to Swansea for export, or for use in the Lower Swansea Valley industries


Arranged into the following: Deeds of properties in the parishes of Loughor, Llangyfelach, Swansea and Llanelli; maps and plans; Swansea Canal Bill papers

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions.

Acquisition Information

It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.


Compiled by Seri Crawley for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Maes-y-gelynen Estate; The Swansea Canal ( viewed 22/04/05.

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service and the National Register of Archives

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records transferred to the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained.


Accruals are not expected.