Deeds of properties in Loughor, Llangyfelach, Swansea and Llanelli, 1743-1907; maps and plans, [late 18th cent.], [c. 1907] and Swansea Canal Bill papers, [c. 1794].
Maes-y-gelynen Estate Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Bevexe-fach farm and other smaller adjoining properties, situated between Gowerton and Dunvant, in the parish of Loughor were acquired by Ann Elizabeth Walker of Gelli-feddan in the parish of Llangyfelach and David Thomas of Maes-y-gelynen near Morriston. The Swansea Canal was constructed by the Swansea Canal Navigation Company between 1794-1798. It was used for transporting coal from the Upper Swansea Valley to Swansea for export, or for use in the Lower Swansea Valley industries
Arranged into the following: Deeds of properties in the parishes of Loughor, Llangyfelach, Swansea and Llanelli; maps and plans; Swansea Canal Bill papers
Conditions Governing Access
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Seri Crawley for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Maes-y-gelynen Estate; The Swansea Canal (http://www.bbc.co.uk/wales/southwest/sites/local_history/pages/swansea_canal.shtml) viewed 22/04/05.
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service and the National Register of Archives
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records transferred to the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained.
Accruals are not expected.